RELIEF

After 56 straight days of bleeding, I finally got some answers. I’ll be heading back into surgery in a few weeks to hopefully solve the problem, but until then, it all just continues.

Thankfully, Jorge has stepped up his game during Thanksgiving and has taken over the kitchen completely. And, by completely, I mean the Man has cooked AND cleaned all at the same time. The kitchen looks spotless and simply smells of awesomeness.

How do I know? Because I’ve been on the couch since I crawled out of bed this morning.

I’m not tired. But I am fatigued. It’s a physical exhaustion – not a mental one. I’m completely awake and here, but my body is just doesn’t have the energy to move.

At this point, the physical impact of the past 8 weeks has finally caught up to me. While surgery is still a few weeks away, I’m feeling a deep sense of relief at having some answers.

A few weeks ago, the doctor did two biopsies on my uterus and the tissue came back negative for cancer (cheers!), however this latest round of tests suggest a growth on my uterine wall. That’s likely causing all of the bleeding.

Will keep you all posted.

In the meantime, on this Thanksgiving day, I’m thankful for the privilege of health care, of proximity to good doctors, and for the ability to have a job that gives me some medical leave time. I am thankful that I have a washing machine and clothing (figure that one out yourself). Thankful that I have running water, sanitary conditions that keep me from harmful germs when I am at my most vulnerable. Thankful for reliable transportation to get me from place to place, especially the hospital. Thankful for the ability to buy foods that help to boost my nutritional needs.

I realize that even in our country, there are so many who do not have access to what I consider these basic needs to live in healthy life.

So on this day when many of us look forward to abundance, stuffing our bellies, and that lovely “food coma” feeling, I ask that you both remember our own privileges and seek to make those equal for others.

Be well, be healthy, be in peace,

Liza

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

