OUT OF THE DARK

Why be afraid, if I’m not alone/ each and every moment, the rest is unknown.”

When there were changes in our family, my oldest child insisted on sleeping with the lights on. Though we have sophisticated security system (and a tiger mom who knows karate!), she felt unsafe.

“It’s too dark,” she said. “I feel safer in the light.”

Though I tried to soothe her fears, rationalize them away with facts, figures and statistics, and even help her appeal to a higher power, she still felt afraid.

And, I can’t blame her.

Sometimes, even when we’ve spent most of our time navigating light and dark, we just need permission to be scared. To feel unsafe. To turn on the light. No matter how silly it seems.

I’ve spent most of my life — at least the past 10 years — in the boxing ring with cancer. A few times, it managed to get a few blows, cut a few scars, and made me shake my head to come back to consciousness.

But today, for lots of reasons, I’m laying on the mat. Listening to the count. Knowing I’m going to get up. Eventually. When I have the energy to do it.

Soon enough,, I’ll put my hands back up, swish my feet back and forth, and jab, bob, and weave like a champ. And, in my dream world, I’ll have a banging 6-pack of abs rippling with every twist and turn….

This past week, while at a consultation to reduce the raised scars from my bilateral mastectomy, the dermatologist noticed a mole on my breast — my breasts without nipples, without tissue, without any sensation. My breast that resembles more like a football than a body part. My breast that I removed to reduce my risk of cancer.

Though I am not wallowing in “what might be”, I am not ashamed to admit that I am afraid.

Today, all I want to do is keep the lights on. Just for a little while. And see if the fears go away.

Peace, love, and letting myself just be afraid, (click on the link to hear me sing…)

Liza

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OUT OF THE DARK

  1. Tina says:

    Hi, Liza – I hear you. Cady’s slept with the light since she was about 4. Every time I sneak in in the middle of the night and turn it off, I hear footsteps and a flick of the switch within minutes of my doing so. So I’ve stopped fighting it.
    On the adult-side of things, the fear is real. Fear of what might be, fear of what might not, fear of the unknown. A very wise (and therapist) friend of mine has been encouraging me to let the fear in instead of trying to push it out. To do as you said and stay on the mat awhile and let it in. Recognize it for what it is. And then let it go, give it to God or your Higher Power, or put it in a box or your pocket, until you need to visit with it again. You’re a fighter, one of the best I have the privilege to know, and you’ll bounce back up. I’m glad you’re giving yourself the ok to keep the lights on…it’s good for you and good for your kids to see that yes, it is ok to be afraid. Sending lots of love your way…

  2. Cheryl Johnson says:

    sending hugs and prayers. Give yourself permission to be afraid if only for a little while. Then redroup, count your blessings and carry on. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

