THE CHOICE

Her seeing eye started to water.

 

“I don’t get it, Mom. What do you mean you chose to have your surgery?”

 

I have to remind myself, at times, that her seeing eye is the entrance to her soul. First, her eyelid starts to twitch. Then, a glassy sheen comes across her pupil. And, shortly after, a hint of water. She holds back the tears with all of her might.
Her special eye tells me nothing. There is no response, no tell-tale lid fluttering. The glassy sheen, fresh from a good scrubbing with Johnson’s No Tears shampoo and a washcloth, is always there.

 

“That’s right, Joli. The doctor called and said Mama didn’t have cancer. Isn’t that great?”

 

I’m careful how I word my sentences when we talk about the good-and-bad of Cancer.

 

“So, I don’t get it, Mom. You didn’t have cancer but you had surgery to take off your breasts? You chose to do that?” Her final words stretched out like molasses on a warm day.

 

We’ve talked about this so many times. She has heard me tell the story repeatedly at the college cancer classes at which we co-present. She has heard about the reduction of risk, the genetic test that confirmed my BRCA status, and has been on this Marathon B4 Mastectomy ride for almost a year. She knows that my sister, Mary, had cancer. She knows my sister Grace — her Tita Grace — did not have cancer but had her breasts removed. When explaining my upcoming surgery to her, the phrase “you know, just like Tita Grace” followed nearly every sentence.

 

“You seem upset, Joli. Would you like to say more about how you’re feeling?” My voice quivered.

 

I slowly reached my arms towards her, moving them past the point of my mastectomy comfort. With sutured chest muscles and 16 inches of stitches across my chest, I feel every fiber of my muscles burn as I walk my finger tips into the palms of her hands, catching a glimpse of the paper cut on her pinky and the remnants of chipped nail polish from a manicure at Halloween.

 

I know where she’s going with this already.

 

“Yes, Joli. Mama had a choice. I had a choice whether I wanted to get cancer or to remove my breasts. If I got cancer, I’d have to go through chemo and fight for my life. If I removed my breasts, I’d only be weak for a little while and but won’t get cancer in my boobies. It was a good choice, Joli. I’m glad I did it.”

 

Here it comes. There was no way around this one.

 

I saw sadness turn to anger in her seeing eye. I held on, wanting to switch my focus to her special eye — the eye that wouldn’t show me her pain, her heartache and her soul.

 

“That’s not fair,” she started. “I didn’t get to choose.”

 

I could feel it, too. I felt my eyelid twitch, the glassy sheen come across both of my eyes, and the tears well up. We are more similar than we admit.

 

“You’re right, Joli. I’m so sorry. You didn’t get to choose whether or not to remove your eye.”

 

She looked away. She was getting mad.

 

“It was the best choice, Joli. But, this surgery — this mastectomy — this wasn’t the first time I had to choose something, Joli. It wasn’t the first time I got to make the best choice about cancer.”

 

She paved the way. Because of Joli, the choice was easy.

 

On November 18, 2010, I lost my breasts.

 

On August 18, 2005, I saved my child.

 

Peace, love, and perspective,

Liza

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE CHOICE

  1. Oh dear Liza,

    As I read your heartbreaking account all I could think about is a song by Regina Belle, “If I Could” (I added the link and lyrics in case you had never heard it). It seems we do the most to protect children from the “real” world and sometimes the “reality” in our world.

    I am so empowered by your story, your whole story as you have shared it with me since I have known you. We always want what is best for our next generation, and as your beautiful Joli grows up she will realize that your choice, the one she did not get was so that you could be with her as she grew and developed. As always thank you for sharing your story. I love you my sister

    If I could
    I’d protect you from the sadness in your eyes
    Give you courage in a world of compromise
    Yes, I would

    If I could
    I would teach you all the things I never learned
    And I’d help you cross the bridges that I’ve burned
    Yes, I would

    If I could
    I would try to shield your innocence from time
    But that part of life I gave you isn’t mine
    I watched you grow, so I can let you go

    If I could
    I would help you make it through the hungry years
    But I know that I can never cry your tears, babe
    But I would If I could

    If I could
    In a time and place where you don’t wanna be
    You don’t have to walk along this road with me
    My yesterday won’t have to be your way

    If I knew
    I’d have tried to change the world I brought you to
    Now there isn’t much more that I can do
    But I would If I could

    If I could
    I would try to shield your innocence from time
    But that part of life I gave you isn’t mine
    I watched you grow, so I can let you go

    If I could
    I would help you make it through the hungry years
    But I know that I can never cry your tears
    But I would If I could

    • Liza says:

      Good gosh. If Marathon B4 Mastectomy had a theme song, it would be this. Amazing — thank you, Ana! And, I may have found my next acappella arrangement. Yay!

  2. Margot Garofalo says:

    You made me cry again!

    But seriously, life is a series of choices…. I truly believe you are helping so many people/families by sharing these difficult choices you have had to make. We have all been fortunate to learn from and draw strength from you. Thank you for allowing us all to come along this difficult journey!

  3. Tracey Gedraitis says:

    Okay, bawling at work…not a good sight! As always, your posts make me feel things that I desperately try to bury. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

