APPOINTMENTS MADE

I have scheduled 2 appointments:

1. My pre-surgical visit with Dr. Gadd. This is the first (of few) steps towards the actual surgery date. I asked the scheduler if I could get a date at the end of November or early December for surgery. Her response, “Of course! We can even get you in earlier if you want.” Uh, no thanks. I’m good with later. So I see my doctor in mid-September, will likely have additional imaging in October, and then… da da da dahhh.. surgery! (That’s me pretending that I’m excited).

2. My second appointment is with the road. Pavement. I’m waiting to hear if I got into the Boston 1/2 Marathon for October 10, 2010 (10/10/10). There was a 9am open registration, but no one is guaranteed to get in until an actual confirmation is received. I’m terrified of this race. Here’s why: I ran the Worcester Marathon (I use the word “ran” loosely) in 3 hours and 4 minutes. For the Boston 1/2 Marathon… THEY STOP TIMING PEOPLE AT 2 HOURS AND 30 MINUTES. For real, people?          FOR    R-E-A-L??

But, I did it. I registered.

I fear my surgery. I fear this race.

What will you push yourself to do today?

Peace, love, and meeting it head on,

Liza

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to APPOINTMENTS MADE

  1. Margo Turcotte says:

    Hi Liza,
    Just wanted you to know that my godchild’s wife, Beth Sawyer Creeden was Dr. Gadd’s PA at MGH. According to Beth, Dr. G. is top notch. You are in the best of hands. You will do well. There is no other option!!
    Best of luck. I read all your blogs and thoroughly enjoy them. You should put them together in a book. They are so inspiring and real.
    Keep up the great work.
    Love,
    Margo Turcotte

    • Liza says:

      Thanks, Mrs. T! Dr. Gadd worked on both Mary and Grace, too. She’s the best! I’m definitely in good hands. Thank you for checking in on my little family and this journey. YOUR endurance and triumph have kept my spirits up in all of this. Much love to you!

  2. Vivian Gresser, aka NanaViv says:

    Liza, Cheryl led me to your blog and I’ve been reading it tonight.

    YOU GO GIRL! Good luck with your challenge. I know it’s different for you, but I had uterin cancer several years ago and had a hysterectomy. Yeah, I was worried, but everything worked out fine and I am cancer free. You are taking a big step setting the appointments and I am proud of you for it. People tell me I am busier now that I’ve retired than before, and that is true, but I can’t imagine keeping up with your schedule as well as your worries about family.
    So keep your positive attitude and know that my prayers are with you all the way. I will be walking the “Race for the Cure” in Bangor in September and will think of you then. You don’t need reassurance from me, but I think you are doing the right thing for you and your family. YOU GO GIRL! Hugs to you and the kids. Nana Viv

    • Liza says:

      Hi Nana Viv! Wow! Thanks for reading! I had no idea you were a survivor, too! Good luck on your Race for the Cure in September. Hopefully the weather will be much cooler by then!

      Love, liza

      PS: Evan says he misses you, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

