FOCUS ON MASTECTOMY

In the past, when the New Year Resolution to “lose weight” hit, I was your pretty typical dieter. I went gung-ho for the first week, lost some weight, celebrated the weight loss by eating, and soon found myself done with dieting for the year. My mental game of “losing weight for myself”, then “losing weight for my health”, then “losing weight because I’m supposed to” always fizzled out by week 2 or 3.

I’ve been reading over some past posts and have found my optimism really exciting. I loved re-reading about how I felt my body crave the workout, how I was making different eating choices because my body told me to, and how this time was different. But, before I knew it, life interfered again. Work got busy. Kids got sick. Weather got snowy.

While I’m still 27 lbs down from a few months ago, I found myself discouraged. I haven’t had a successful run (definition: one in which I didn’t throw up) in over 3 weeks. I finally started medication for this lingering cold, but my body is still not ready to breathe without coughing.

But, what is different this time is that my life depends on my fitness. It’s a totally different experience this time. I’m finding myself frustrated that I can’t get out there and work out.  It scares me to think about losing ground on being fit for my surgery. And, yeah, it scares me to think that I may park my car on the 1/2 marathon route and drive the rest of the way home. I need this. I need to get fit. I need to reduce my risk of cancer.

I’m wondering if others have fallen off the workout bandwagon or if you’re still going strong. PLEASE send me some info and updates. I need to hear from some of you to keep me going!

Peace, love, and where-the-heck-is-everyone????

Liza

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FOCUS ON MASTECTOMY

  1. Liz says:

    Did you just say 27 pounds down? In a few months?! That’s insanely amazing!
    I’m typing this with my thumb as two year old sleeps on me, on in-laws couch, after waking up before 5am. We are both sick, despite being in sunny CA.
    I had been running every other day, until, two weeks ago I had finals for my teacher training, then, Just after superbowl Sunday, we got the news that marshall’s childhood friend died. Funeral travel, babysitters, grief… No exercise. Bacon cheeseburgers, no yoga. Now we are on vacation. No exercise, lots of eating, feeling discouraged, then buying chocolate covered pretzels. You get the idea.
    But it is a beautiful morning, and I think i’ll take this dog for a walk. It’s a start….

    • Liza says:

      Sorry to hear about all the struggles these past few days, Liz. Yes, I’m 27 lbs in 3 months. But keep in mind that I have a LOT of weight to lose. My goal is to lose another 20-30 lbs before the surgery (4 months). Though, my body definitely needs to exercise to lose the weight. Sitting around like I’ve been doing for 3 weeks is doing nothing for me. Hopefully I can start running again soon!

  2. Donna Vivar says:

    I know you are already feeling better since you posted this entry, but know that we’re still here! I had a fabulous time walking with you and Christina today. 🙂

    As much as you plan and want to stick to your fitness regiment, sometimes life doesn’t always let you follow the plan. Be kind to yourself and know that you are already past the point of no return. You WILL finish what you started and you WILL be healthy for your surgery. The upcoming 5k and half marathon won’t know what hit ’em!

Leave a Reply

