PAIN

When I was pregnant with my third child, I had horrible back pain. I remember thinking, “Nothing could be more painful than this!” But, of course, two prior birthing experiences reminded me that labor would be much more painful than the back pain I was having!

These past few days, I’ve been having pain in my right breast. One evening, it hurt so bad that it felt like my body had shut down. I was over my parents’ house and just couldn’t get warm. I was so cold that I turned the heat up in the playroom so high that my siblings became irritable. “It’s too damn hot in here, Liza!” yelled my brother as he gave me his thick wool sweater. Slowly, others followed suit, and soon I was alone.

As much pain as I was in, I couldn’t take my mind off of the perceived pain I would be in after surgery. I let myself experience emotional pain, and as my colleague Alice C. witnessed, I was back to telling perky boobie jokes the next day.

So, I’m off my workout schedule until this pain clears. How are others doing with their training??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to PAIN

  1. Alice says:

    In an attempt to put off a workout on the treadmill this morning (way too cold outside), I was checking work e-mail and then read your latest entry. So, because I am not in any pain, I need to get myself down to the basement and onto the treadmill. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Liza says:

    So proud of you, Alice! Put an extra 5 minutes in for me will ya??? Way to go!

  3. flo says:

    Liza – I hope you find some respite from the pain soon. Curl up with those lovely little people and your amusing haiku writing hubby and take comfort in and from them.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I didn’t run today, but I did make it to the gym yesterday for a 3.4 mile run. Our fitness center is part of the high school and I wonder if half of my motivation is seeing (and keeping up with?) the teens. Either way, it keeps me moving.

    Do you know why you are having such debilitating breast pain? I am worried!

    e

  5. Liza says:

    I’m pretty sure the pain is just a clogged duct, which is surprising 10-months into breastfeeding. It seems to have cleared up, but it’s so painful while waiting! I think I’m heading for a run today!

  6. Tamara says:

    Sorry to hear you had some chest pain. Not fun.

    I haven’t started running yet. What I decided to do first was to build a routine of exercising for the first few weeks to get me somewhat ready to start running. So far I have been doing some yoga and cardio. Next week I think I will start putting in some run time. Wish me luck.

    BTW – I thank you for getting me motivated to do this. Without you I would likely just be sitting on my duff thinking of running/exercising while eating a bowl of ice cream. Ha!

  7. Tina says:

    Hey — glad to hear you’re doing better. You’ve motivated us! Scott & I finally joined the gym down the street, since we have no streetlights or sidewalks in our ‘hood and can’t get exercising until after it’s dark. I put Sofia to bed and headed out for my first ‘run’ in months — felt great…though your 11 min pace is kicking my 13.5 minute pace’s A$$. Well done!!!!!

Leave a Reply

