DAY OFF

This whole journey has really helped to reshape how I think about my daily life. Yesterday, while grocery shopping, I found myself really caring about the foods that might/could contribute to increasing our risk of cancer. We eat a lot of chicken in our house, and I usually grab what’s on sale. There are very few meat brands that don’t use hormones in their product, and unfortunately the one that does wasn’t on sale. But i just couldn’t bring myself to buy something that could increase the very thing I’m fighting to avoid.

I bought one chicken (hormone free) that hopefully will last us a few days, and ended up just having to be more creative about meals that wouldn’t use chicken this week.

My veggie nutritionist sister-in-law is probably cheering right now ….

Another change I experienced is wanting to do more physical activity with the kids. In the freezing cold, and largely against her will, Jo and I went out and took a long walk with our dog. It ended up being so much fun as we played “ice ball soccer” on the sidewalks at my work.

Great way to spend a day-off — with my favorite little inspiration :).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DAY OFF

  1. Tina says:

    YAY!!!!! Since we’ve switched over to only hormone-free, we’re eating A LOT less meat, and lots more in the rice/refried beans/tofu/ department. I have a great recipe for ‘Pakistani Rice’ with cinnamon, tofu, chick peas and ginger that the kids love — it’s a meal by itself. Let me know if you want the recipe…really easy.

  2. Heather says:

    Hi Liza – So glad you and Joli had a great walk this morning!

    I am trying to REALLY cut down on my meat consumption – it seems so contradictory that we are almost “poisining” our own bodies by trying to think what we think is healthy – like chicken!

    I have some great veggie cookbooks – let me know if you want to look at them.

  3. jenny says:

    Haha! You’re right… I was cheering!! I think that is great! Also, you should watch Food, Inc. That movie motivated me to stop eating all fast foods (pizza doesn’t count).

Leave a Reply

