MAMMOGRAM TIME

Genesis 8:11 When the dove returned to him in the evening, there in its beak was a freshly plucked olive leaf.

The past few days have been absolutely amazing! After what seemed to be the next “Great Flood”, we finally got our basement dried out (though still smelling like mold and must) and started to clean. In the meantime, the weather has been absolutely beautiful and I’ve started to run again. I’ve run for 5 days, each time lacing up my sneakers, pulling my hair back, and getting stronger with each footstep on the pavement.
My runs have been incredible — 3+ miles each time, and I feel strong. Healthy. Ready to do anything.

I’m so glad that I’ve had a great few days to distract me from my mammogram tonight. It’s the first mammogram that I’ve had in over 2 years (couldn’t do one when I was pregnant nor nursing). When I found a lump in my breast, I did have an ultrasound and a fine needle aspiration. However, no mammogram. I’m nervous — optimistically — but nervous nonetheless. I find myself needing to fight the urge to run. To run out of the parking lot, down the street, and far away from the hospital where I need to be in just a few hours. When I lace up my paper thin gown tonight, I’ll dream of lacing my sneakers. I have my Brave Face on, but inside I’m a wreck.

According to the Bible, after the Flood, God sent a rainbow as a promise to humanity to not destroy it ever again.

I’m hoping that some of that great flood promise carries through tonight.

Peace, love, and squished parts,

Liza

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MAMMOGRAM TIME

  1. Olivia says:

    Liza, I’ve been trying to stay positive certain aspects of my life too recently (nothing crazy, just little things here and there), but one thing that I’m trying really, really hard on is changing my point of view from “everyone has to have a tough life” to “why can’t I have the best life possible?!” Every time I have a negative thought, I make a conscious effort to change it–I truly believe the universe will hear all of our thoughts and prayers and give us what we want, as long as we believe in it 110%. I believe in YOU! I’ll be thinking of you tonight :) oxoxox

  2. Colleen says:

    Liza:
    Although I do not comment on every post, but I read and am inspired by every step you take along what I know will be a long and winding road. You are truly a power of example, and I am so glad that you are doing that things that are right for you and for your family. For what it is worth, I believe wholeheartedly that you are going to be fine – through it all.
    OXOXO
    With love and prayers,
    Colleen

Leave a Reply

