GAVE IN, GOT MEDS

After far too long being sick, I finally went to see the nurse practitioner today. It was a little awkward when this young nurse looked inside my mouth and said, “Oh, yes. Your tonsils are swollen.”

I paused. “Really?” I asked hesitantly. I began to question a memory of when I was in the 10th grade — “I don’t have tonsils,” I uttered slowly. “I had them removed when I was 15 years old.”

“Wait, let me look again,” she says flustered. “Yeah, you’re right. I guess it’s just really red in there. Here’s a prescription. Do you have any questions?”

I wanted to ask SO many questions, starting with W-T-Ffffff???? But, she seemed sufficiently embarrassed without my snarky comments.

Away I went with prescription in hand. Here’s hoping I can kick this sinus infection sooner than later. I’m pretty sure I’m falling behind with my training, and I desperately miss my workout crew of friends!

What brightened my day was a humbling blog post a pair of lovely ladies wrote about me. The Dreizen gals are one of a kind. Please visit their blog and check out their amazingness

Peace, love, and tonsils,
Liza

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GAVE IN, GOT MEDS

  1. Steph H says:

    Hi Liza,

    Just found your blog. I’m BRCA2+ and had my PBM in December 2009. I have always been a casual jogger, and this was the first week I got the clear to run from my plastic surgeon. I made it about two miles… I’m so out of shape! (Not to mention I’m so sore that I haven’t been back on the treadmill in three days. I’m going to try again tonight.) I had a similar impulse to train for a half-marathon AFTER my PBM, but I haven’t made any public declarations yet. I feel like I have a second lease on life and I want to make the most of it. I also blog about being BRCA+ at goodbyetoboobs.com I hope you will check it out.

    Best of luck, Steph H

Leave a Reply

